2012 Luminary Award Recipients

One of the Raven’s Ball’s highlights will be the presentation of the Luminary Awards, which recognize individuals for their dedication and outstanding contribution to the Alaska Tribal Health System (ATHS) and community. The Foundation Oversight Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2012 Raven’s Ball Luminary Awards:

2012 President's Award Recipient

Lloyd Miller

The President’s Award will be presented to Lloyd Miller, chair and founder of the Native Law Section of the Alaska Bar Association. Miller is being recognized for creating strategies to help the ATHS address problems of chronic underfunding as well as other tribal health issues. He is a leader who has helped improve awareness and knowledge around Indian Health Service policy and Congressional appropriations that affect the performance of the system and the lives of Alaska Natives and American Indians served. Click here to see the video.



2012 Legacy & Leadership Recipent

Valerie Davidson


The Legacy and Leadership Award will be presented to Valerie Davidson, Senior Director of Legal and Intergovernmental Affairs at the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium. Davidson is being recognized for her countless contributions to the tribal health system though her work with a wide array of tribal leaders, legislators, regulators, policy-makers and people served by the ATHS. Click here to see the video.




2012 Distinguished Provider Recipient

Dr. James Tiesinga

The Distinguished Provider Award will be presented to Dr. James Tiesinga, Laboratory Director of five of the seven major tribal hospitals.Tiesinga is being recognized for his work in improving, standardizing and unifying the laboratories of the ATHS so that they all share the same standardized quality management system. More than 70 percent of all health care decisions are based on laboratory data and Tiesinga’swork touches the lives of virtually every patient in the tribal health system. Click here to see the video.



2012 Community Spirit Recipient

Sid Smith

The Community Spirit Award will be presented to Sid Smith, longtime member of Southcentral Foundation’s Elder Advisory Council. Smith is being recognized for his many years of active volunteerism and advocacy for elder support and outreach services. Smith works with elders around the state to facilitate social and cultural engagement opportunities and serves as a catalyst for creating a talking circle. This encourages elders to provide their feedback on their medical experiences for their families and the teams that care for them. Click here to see the video.



For more information on the 2012 Raven’s Ball, Raven’s Ball Luminary Awards, and sponsorship and table information, call (907) 729-5652 or email info@inspiringgoodhealth.org.